Discipline

Why is it so easy to have a New Year’s resolution… yet so difficult to keep it?

Why do we continue to do things that we know will not work?

Why do we not do the things we know we SHOULD do?  And vice versa?

These questions–and the topic of discipline in general–have been on my mind a lot lately.  I recently looked back and was surprised to find that I hadn’t been blogging or Tweeting much at all since early November.  That is almost three whole months!

What happened?

To put it succinctly, I was undisciplined.

Anything worthwhile requires discipline.  Whether it concerns diet, exercise, reading, learning a new school, following through with projects, or… well… just about anything, discipline is the key in finishing what you start (or at least continuing through.)  The enemy of discipline is familiarity.  We fall back to that which seems familiar–even if we know it does not work–because it is “what we know.”

For this reason, I believe that good teachers much continue to stretch and strive.  Good teachers must try and fail.  They must read.  They must attend conferences.  They must reach out.  As soon as a teacher falls into the trap of the familiar, the discipline to challenge oneself is easily discarded.

In my case, my failure was in monitoring my schedule.  I let me calendar and immediacy rule me.  I released control of my time with the old excuse, “I don’t have the time, I have to get this task done.”  I enslaved myself to process and deadlines.

And so, here I am, attempting to regain my discipline.  This blog post is a feeble attempt down that road.

Leave a Reply

