Whom Do You Trust?

Every once in a while, I read something that makes me say, “OOOH! I would love to blog about that!”  And… yes, that just happened now.

To give you some background, I take heed of Mark Twain’s quote regarding the importance of taking time to reflect.  As a school administrator, I feel this is very important when it comes to educational trends.  And so, even though I am excited by the possibilities of PBL, Maker’s Space, flipped classrooms and learning, and many other current education topics, I find myself taking a step back.

After all, we are Lutheran schools!  We are the bedrock!  Our firm foundation is laid in His most excellent Word, not in the most excellent blog!  Our message and heritage should NEVER be cast aside and we should NEVER diminish the “Lutheran” part of “____ Lutheran School.”

To help keep myself in check a bit, I like to read this blog and especially have started reading Neil Postman again.  If you are unfamiliar with Postman, I suggest reading this article and reading this tribute page.  Here is a video of an interview with Postman:

The book I’m currently reading is “Conscientious Objections.”  And as I was reading, right there on page 20, this quote jumped out and hit me:

“In the thirty-five years or so since Orwell wrote [‘Politics and the English Language’], it has become even more obvious that the principal purpose of most political language is to justify or, if possible, to make glorious the malignant ambitions of nation states.”

Wow.

Postman so poignantly, succinctly, and eloquently got to the root of what I was getting at in a previous blog post.  It is the tension of our times–How much do you trust government?  I am disheartened at times by friends who seem to go “all in” for this particular candidate or that particular organization.

The sooner we divorce ourselves from the concept of “American = Christian” the sooner we can come to understand that our faith and trust is not in that which is temporal.  And to be clear… governments are temporal.  Because our hope is in that which is eternal, it is only through the Holy Spirit that we can transcend the fear and uneasiness of government.  So, while we fully affirm Colossians 1:16 and Romans 13, we do so with the understanding that government is not “sovereign.”  Sovereignty belongs to God alone and earthly governments are merely the stewards of that which has been entrusted to them.

Postman’s quote gave me pause; but the Gospel gives me promise.

Leave a Reply

